coal and diamonds

I hope that
all this pressure
has a purpose.
If that ream of coal
were sentient
would it cry out
as it’s made into diamond?
Let this be for something.
Oh, let this be for something.
If I’m to be crushed–
and I am crushed–
I am utterly crushed,
I am brought very low–
Let it turn me into diamond.
But oh, how it hurts.
Let it turn me into diamond.
Amen.

written Friday, May 21, 2010
originally published to http://alphabetaparkinglot.blogspot.com/2010/05/coal-and-diamondswritten-today.html


About Hira Animfefte

I am an unwedded widow whose beloved died in November 2009. This is my story.
This entry was posted in grief poem, grief poem I wrote, grieving, prayer, unwedded widowhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to coal and diamonds

  1. Alicia says:

    Very nice. Very nice indeed.

  2. Thanks, Alicia. High praise, coming from you. :)

Please leave a comment! Comments make my day brighter.

