The Long Sojourn

How do I get there?
To the place of unmisery    
To that place that isn’t   
The worst of places to be– 
How do I get there?
Does it exist anywhere?
Where’s my directions?  
I’m tired; I’m tired of traveling blind,
Though it keeps the sandstorm
Out of my eyes– 
Oh good Lord I’m tired
Whittled-down tired
I’m tired to the core of the core
I’ve had enough, and enough, and enough,
And I don’t want to take anymore.
Can you hear my cries?
You did not warn,  
I was led to the desert to die
In panic, confusion, and sorrrow, and haste–
Oh, rescue me now from the trackless wastes
Lest I be food for vultures and jackals– 
Did you lead me out of Egypt to perish here,
Without even a reason why?
O rescue me, O lead me out
With your pillar of fire and your pillar of cloud–
If truly me do you cherish
Then save me from hence, lest I perish.

written August 17, 2010, around 3 am

About Hira Animfefte

I am an unwedded widow whose beloved died in November 2009. This is my story.
This entry was posted in desert, grief, grief poem, grief poem I wrote, grieving, Israel in the desert, poem, poem I wrote, poetry, reflection, Sojourn, unwedded widow, unwedded widowhood, widow, widowhood, wilderness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Long Sojourn

  1. Thank you for this – it illuminates your inner spaces and I feel your heartbeat here.

Please leave a comment! Comments make my day brighter.

